AANEM Meetings News Express

AANEM News Express

2021 AANEM Annual Meeting: Funds Available for Physicians from Economically Developing Countries to Attend

The American Neuromuscular Foundation and North American Chapter of the International Federation of Clinical Neurophysiology (IFCN) International Scholarships provide an opportunity for physicians who practice in economically developing countries to apply for funds to support their education through attendance at an AANEM meeting.

2020 Golseth Young Investigator Award Winners Announced

The Golseth Young Investigator Award, honoring AANEM Founding Member, Dr. James Golseth, is presented annually to a medical student or physician in the early stages of his/her career for original research in NM and EDX medicine. 

AANEM 2020 Annual Meeting Goes Virtual

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) will conduct the 2020 Annual Meeting in a virtual format.

AANEM Announces Best Abstracts of the Year

The American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine's (AANEM) Best Abstract Award is given each year to the first and presenting author of the best abstract submitted to the AANEM Annual meeting. The 2020 Best Abstract Award winner is David Cornblath, MD, of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. A runner-up award was given to Tatsuya Oishi, MD, of Mayo Clinic.

Dr. Wertsch Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AANEM. It is given to members who are recognized as major contributors in the fields of NM and EDX medicine through their efforts in teaching, research, and scholarly

Dr. Donofrio Receives Distinguished Physician Award

The AANEM has the distinct privilege of serving thousands of extremely talented and dedicated physicians every year. This year the Distinguished Physician Award winner is awarded to Peter Donofrio, MD, for his distinguished service as a clinician, educator and overall support of AANEM.  Dr. Donofrio has focused on peripheral neuropathy and motor neuron disorders throughout his career and brought this expertise to his involvement with the AANEM.

Dr. Miller Receives Advocacy Award

The Advocacy Award recognizes those who have made extraordinary contributions to increase public awareness and/or advocate to government entities or insurance companies regarding the role of EDX medicine in the diagnosis and treatment of disorders. Due to his unmatched passion and
dedication to advocacy, P. Caudill Miller, MD, has been named this year’s winner of the AANEM Advocacy Award.

Dr. Rubin Receives Jun Kimura Outstanding Educator Award

Devon Rubin, MD, is the second winner of the new AANEM Jun Kimura Outstanding Educator Award. This award honors AANEM members for their significant contributions related to NM and EDX education.

Dr. Carter Receives Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award

Dr. Carter has been named the winner of this year’s Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award for PMR. Dr. Carter has been a member of AANEM since 1992 and has presented over 20 various sessions at AANEM Annual Meetings since 2001.

Dr. London Receives Innovation Award

The AANEM’s Innovation Award honors forward-thinking members for designing and developing products, services, or processes to enhance patient care and/or transform the quality of patient care through technology and innovation. Due to his innovations in the development of interactive educational
tools along with his curriculum in electromyography, Zachary N. London, MD, has been named this year’s Innovation Award recipient.