AANEM Meetings News Express

AANEM News Express

Dr. Sanders Presented with Best Abstract Award

The AANEM presented the 2015 Best Abstract Award to  Donald B. Sanders, MD, of Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, North Carolina, for his work entitled, “Results From the Dapper Study: Inpatient Double-Blind Placebo-Controlled Withdrawal Study of 3,4-Diaminopyridine Base (3,4-Dap) in Subjects With Lambert-Eaton Myasthenic Syndrome (LEMS).”

Vince Tranchitella, MD, Invites You to the AANEM 62nd Annual Meeting

It is my pleasure to invite you to the 62nd Annual Meeting of the American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM), October 28-31, 2015, in Honolulu, HI. 

Dr. Chan Receives Best Abstract Award at the AANEM 61st Annual Meeting

K. Ming Chan, MD, of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, will receive the award for his work entitled, “Post-Surgical Electrical Stimulation Enhances Sensory Function Following Digital Nerve Transection: A Double Blind, Randomized Controlled Clinical Trial.”

Dr. Shklyar Receives Golseth Young Investigator Award

While the Golseth Young Investigator Award is meant to showcase outstanding research by physicians in early practice, it is rare that the recipient is as young as this year’s Irina Shklyar, MD, of New Haven, CT.

Kyle Bryant Receives First-Ever Public Recognition Award

The 2014 Public Recognition Award is presented to Kyle Bryant by the AANEM for his tireless efforts to raise awareness and research dollars for Friedreich’s ataxia (FA).

Dr. Hallett to Receive AANEM Lifetime Achievement Award

Mark Hallett, MD, receives the AANEM’s highest member honor—the Lifetime Achievement Award—for the breadth and depth of his contributions to the EDX and NM fields, including mentoring young investigators and faculty nationally and internationally.

Dr. DiMauro to Receive AANEM Honorary Membership

The AANEM recognizes nonmembers who are major contributors to the fields of EDX or NM disease with Honorary Membership. The 2014 recipient is Salvatore (Billi) DiMauro, MD, for his scholarly achievements and clinical excellence.

Dr. Doherty to Receive AANEM Distinguished Researcher Award

“I am extremely honored to be recognized by the AANEM as the Distinguished Researcher Award recipient for 2014,” said Timothy J. Doherty, MD, PhD, FRCP(C).

Dr. Andary to Receive AANEM Distinguished Physician Award

Michael T. Andary, MD, MS, is the recipient of the AANEM’s 2014 Distinguished Physician Award, which recognizes a member’s superior achievements as a clinician, educator, and association volunteer.

Meeting to Focus on Emerging Technologies in Neuromuscular Medicine

New sessions at
2014 AANEM Annual Meeting reflect a larger trend in the field—encouraging specialists to think beyond EMG when diagnosing and treating patients with neuromuscular (NM) diseases. The meeting is planned for October 29-November 1, 2014, in Savannah, GA.