The American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) is pleased to announce the selection of Eric J. Sorenson, MD, as President of the Board of Directors for 2017-2018. He succeeds William S. Pease, MD, whose term ended on September 15, 2017. 
“As President, I am looking forward to advancing the practice of electrodiagnostic medicine by developing unequalled educational opportunities for our membership, advocating on their behalf at the national level, and supporting high quality research opportunities for musculoskeletal and neuromuscular researchers,” said Dr. Sorenson.  


Donate to Advance Research and Education
With your help,  the AANEM Foundation can fund research that will improve the lives of patients with neuromuscular diseases.


In 1951, a small group of physicians practicing clinical electromyography and electrodiagnosis expressed a desire to organize a professional society dedicated to the growing medical specialty. They wanted to create a professional network; to build a platform for discussion of research; and to establish standards and measure quality. A society for medical professionals practicing electrodiagnostic medicine did not exist at the time. On August 29, 1953, another gathering took place at the Palmer House in Chicago, IL, to formally organize the American Association of Electromyography and Electrodiagnosis (AAEE). 

Founding Members

Timeline & Highlights

2010s  | 2000s  | 1990s  | 1980s  | 1970s  | 1960s  | 1950s


Value Based Payment position paper created
ABEM eliminates oral examination and approves moving to a testing center
Guidelines and Summary for Limb Girdle and Distal Dystrophies approved
On Site/Real Time position paper created
AANEM creates Choosing Wisely statements


Reporting The Results of Diagnostic Neuromuscular Ultrasound published
Laboratory Accreditation extended to laboratories located in Canada and US government laboratories offered abroad


AANEM reaches 100 laboratories accredited
Significant reimbursement cuts implemented by CMS for 2013


Tim Dillingham Proposes NCS Standardization Task Force
First laboratories approved
First Technologist Examination offered by ABEM
First neuromuscular medicine SAE offered
Bylaws changed to add collaborators to membership
Neuromuscular Medicine Qualifications Position statement published


AANEM launches Laboratory Accreditation
CNCT credential developed
Grandfathered AAET certification


Allied Health membership proposed to Bylaws and is rejected. Instead, technologist and researchers are added.
NM ultrasound qualification published


Lawrence Phillips, II, MD becomes new Muscle & Nerve Editor
First teleconference offered by AANEM


Olney Lecture Established
MI bill passes making EMG the practice of medicine
Reporting the Results of Needle EMG and Nerve Conduction Studies published


AAEM becomes AANEM to reflect the broadening of its scope
Symposia and ultrasound added to the annual meeting


Members dues are $245


ABEM holds first maintenance of certification examination
Annual meeting registration available online for the first time

Watch: Dr. Busis Discusses Culture and Change During Presidency
Watch: Dr. Phillips Speaks About AANEM's 50th Anniversary


AAEM publishes volume 1 Guidelines in Electrodiagnostic Medicine
AAEM produces first educational CD ROM


Michael Aminoff becomes Muscle & Nerve editor
Peter Grant becomes Positive Waves editor


Neil Busis creates AAEM web homepage
AAEM Foundation for Research and Education established
Ella Van Laningham retires, Shirlyn Adkins named executive director


First email is sent to members
ABEM creates recertification examination


AAEM creates Positive Waves as a member benefit and selects John Kincaid, MD, as its first editor


Dinner seminars added to the annual meeting

Watch: Dr. Claire Wolfe Remembers Her Time as President
Watch: Dr. Mark Hallet Remembers 1990s Reimbursement Changes


Membership votes to change name to American Association of Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AAEM)
AAEM publishes first practice parameter


Jun Kimura, MD, becomes editor of Muscle & Nerve


American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine (ABEM) formed
AAEM's application for a seat in the American Medical Association House of Delegates is accepted
Tom Swift, MD, and Ian MacLean, MD, serve as AAEM's first HOD delegates


Workshops and video tape library added to annual meeting


Muscle & Nerve becomes official journal of the AAEE with Walter Bradley, DM, FRCP, as editor
News & Comments becomes regular feature in Muscle & Nerve


Case report series added as member benefit
First glossary published

Watch: Dr. Jasper R. Daube Prioritized Financial Stability and Education During Presidency
Watch: Dr. Austin J. Sumner Reflects on the "Golden Age" of Electrodiagnostic Medicine


Rochester, MN, becomes AAEE's home office
Ella Van Laningham is hired as executive secretary
First set of guidelines published


Courses added to the annual meeting


Monograph series started as member benefit
Gisela Wiederholt named AAEE's first executive secretary


Gisela Wiederholt hired as part-time secretary

Watch: President Ernest W. Johnson, MD
Watch: Dr. John L. Melvin Discusses the Organization's Focus During 1979-80


First examination given to 26 individuals on a trial basis


First newsletter sent to members
Y. Thomas Oester, MD, served as newsletter editor


First annual scientific meeting held in Washington, D.C.


American Association of Electromyography and Electrodiagnosis (AAEE) founded at the Palmer House in Chicago, IL
Membership dues were $10


James Golseth holds meeting at the Shirley-Savoy Hotel in Denver, CO, to discuss creating an organization for electromyography

Watch: Dr. James Golseth: AANEM's First President
Watch: Dr. George H. Koepke Reflects on AANEM's Early Years


Nandedkar Production EMG Videos




Find out how we can help you meet your MOC goals