AANEM News Express

AANEM News Express

AANEM Effort Gains Traction in the House: Sign-On Letter Closes with 24 Signatories

AANEM advocacy efforts in Washington D.C. continue to see success. Efforts to work with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to establish mandatory standards for EDX medicine based on the AANEM EDX Laboratory Accreditation program continue to progress, with a recent bi-partisan letter sent by several members of the U.S. House of Representatives to CMS. The letter made specific requests of CMS, including the following language:
The proliferation of poor-quality and fraudulent testing undermines patient access to accurate and medically necessary EDX procedures used to diagnose complex diseases. Following the 2014 OIG report, what steps has the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) taken to implement the aforementioned recommendations? How will CMS enforce standing rules and take steps to address fraud and abuse in this space? Finally, please inform us of the agency’s plans to partner with relevant stakeholders in a meaningful way to find solutions that promote optimal care in EDX medicine.
The bipartisan letter was led by Congressmen Greg Walden (OR), G. K. Butterfield (NC), Pete Sessions (TX), and John Garamendi (CA). AANEM thanks them for their leadership on this important and issue and appreciates the hard work of all the patient and professional community advocates that took action and asked their Representatives to join this effort. Ultimately, the letter attracted 20 additional co-singers from across the country:
Congressman Joe Barton (R-TX), Congressman Kurt Schrader (OR), Congressman Ted Deutch (FL), Congressman Kevin Cramer (ND), Congressman Chris Collins (NY), Congressman Dan Kildee (MI), Congressman Andre Carson (IN), Congressman Don Young (AK), Congressman Trent Franks (AZ), Congresswoman Gwen Moore (WI), Congressman Tim Walz (MN), Congressman Frank LoBiondo (NJ), Congressman Mike Coffman (CO), Congressman Beto O’Rourke (TX), Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (MI), Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (VA), Congressman Pat Meehan (PA), Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ), Congressman Reid Ribble (WI), and Congressman Rod Blum (IA).
“Twenty-four signatories demonstrates a solid base of support. We are hopeful that this letter, along with the July Senate sign-on letter, will show CMS that this is an important issue that they need to address by sitting down with AANEM and other stakeholders to discuss solutions,” said AANEM health policy director, Millie Suk, JD, MPP.
Support AANEM’s advocacy efforts by donating to the Advocacy Fund! http://www.aanem.org/Advocacy/Advocacy-Fund.

View Related News Stories:


Recent AANEM News

Remembering George Kraft, MD, MS

The American Clinical Neurophysiology Society to Hold Another Townhall Meeting of Clinical Neurophysiology, Epilepsy, and Neuromuscular Fellowship Program Directors

Science News: Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Noninvasive Positive Pressure Ventilatory Support: "Nasal Noninvasive Ventilation" or "Noninvasive Ventilatory Support"?

CMS Finalizes Updates to Physician Fee Schedule

Advocacy in Action: State Liaison Leads the Way for Patient Advocacy in Washington and Beyond