AANEM Meetings News Express

AANEM News Express

Andrew H. Dubin, MD, Receives Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award

AANEM has selected Andrew H. Dubin, MD to receive the Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award in 2021. AANEM Outstanding Educator Awards honor members for their significant contributions related to neuromuscular and electrodiagnostic medicine education. Dr. Dubin, currently Professor of PM&R and Program Director at the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Florida, has been a member of AANEM since 1995. He has been a practicing physiatrist for 31 years.

Dr. Janice M. Massey Receives 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award

AANEM’s Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed to a member. The award celebrates a lifetime’s worth of dedication to the field of NM or EDX medicine through teaching, research, or publications. The recipient of the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award has checked all of these boxes over her more than 30 years of service. Janice M. Massey, MD is the second woman in history to receive this prestigious award. She currently serves as the Executive Vice Chair in the Department of Neurology at Duke University Medical Center.

Sandra Hearn, MD, Receives 2021 Surinderjit Singh Young Lectureship Award

The AANEM is excited to announce that Sandra Hearn, MD, is the 2021 winner of the Surinderjit Singh Young Lectureship Award. Dr. Hearn was chosen by AANEM President Bonnie Weigert, MD. As part of the award, Dr. Hearn will be a plenary speaker at the 2021 AANEM Annual Meeting in Aurora, Colorado, which will take place October 13-16. Her plenary is called, “Pushing the Boundary of Normal in Electrodiagnostic Interpretation.”


2021 AANEM Annual Meeting: Funds Available for Physicians from Economically Developing Countries to Attend

The American Neuromuscular Foundation and North American Chapter of the International Federation of Clinical Neurophysiology (IFCN) International Scholarships provide an opportunity for physicians who practice in economically developing countries to apply for funds to support their education through attendance at an AANEM meeting.

2020 Golseth Young Investigator Award Winners Announced

The Golseth Young Investigator Award, honoring AANEM Founding Member, Dr. James Golseth, is presented annually to a medical student or physician in the early stages of his/her career for original research in NM and EDX medicine. 

AANEM 2020 Annual Meeting Goes Virtual

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine (AANEM) will conduct the 2020 Annual Meeting in a virtual format.

AANEM Announces Best Abstracts of the Year

The American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine's (AANEM) Best Abstract Award is given each year to the first and presenting author of the best abstract submitted to the AANEM Annual meeting. The 2020 Best Abstract Award winner is David Cornblath, MD, of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. A runner-up award was given to Tatsuya Oishi, MD, of Mayo Clinic.

Dr. Wertsch Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AANEM. It is given to members who are recognized as major contributors in the fields of NM and EDX medicine through their efforts in teaching, research, and scholarly

Dr. Donofrio Receives Distinguished Physician Award

The AANEM has the distinct privilege of serving thousands of extremely talented and dedicated physicians every year. This year the Distinguished Physician Award winner is awarded to Peter Donofrio, MD, for his distinguished service as a clinician, educator and overall support of AANEM.  Dr. Donofrio has focused on peripheral neuropathy and motor neuron disorders throughout his career and brought this expertise to his involvement with the AANEM.