AANEM News Express

AANEM News Express

House Takes Up AANEM Cause, Seeks Advocacy Letter Co-Signer

AANEM advocacy efforts continue to gain momentum. In addition to outreach by key Senators to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), legislators in the House of Representatives are taking an active interest in issues of quality and patient access to sites of care in electrodiagnostic (EDX) medicine. Most recently, Congressmen Greg Walden (R-OR) and Pete Sessions (R-TX) have begun a dialogue with CMS over persistent issues of fraud and abuse that undermine patient care and put pressure on reimbursement for qualified providers. 
Congressman Walden serves on the Energy & Commerce Committee in the House, which has jurisdiction over healthcare issues. He would like to lead a new sign-on letter to CMS that encourages further collaboration with the patient and professional stakeholder community, while re-emphasizing the recommendations of a 2014 report by the Office of Inspector General focused on curbing pervasive fraud and abuse in EDX medicine. Congressman Walden would like the letter to be bipartisan, and would prefer to co-lead it with another member of the Energy and Commerce Committee. 
This is a tremendous opportunity for the EDX community. If you are a constituent or otherwise have a relationship with one of the Democratic Energy & Commerce Committee offices listed below, please contact Millie Suk at msuk@aanem.org. AANEM would like to work with you to reach out to the health staff (via e-mail) in these offices and request that they co-lead the letter or otherwise join the effort to promote optimal patient care in EDX medicine. 
Energy & Commerce Committee, Democratic Members
(Name, State, District)
Frank Pallone (New Jersey - 06) Ranking Member
Bobby Rush (Illinois - 01)
Anna Eshoo (California - 18)
Eliot Engel (New York - 16)
Gene Green (Texas - 29)
Diana DeGette (Colorado - 01)
Lois Capps (California - 24)
Michael Doyle (Pennsylvania - 14)
Janice Schakowsky (Illinois - 09)
G.K. Butterfield (North Carolina - 01)
Doris Matsui (California - 06)
Kathy Castor (Florida - 14)
John Sarbanes (Maryland - 03)
Jerry McNerney (California - 09)
Peter Welch (Vermont - 00)
Ben Lujan (New Mexico - 03)
Paul Tonko (New York - 20)
John Yarmuth (Kentucky - 03)
Yvette Clarke (New York - 09)
David Loebsack (Iowa - 02)
Kurt Schrader (Oregon - 05)
Joseph Kennedy (Massachusetts - 04)
Tony Cárdenas (California - 29)

View Related News Stories:


Recent AANEM News

Science News: Reduction of Skin Innervation is Associated with a Severe Fibromyalgia Phenotype

The American Neuromuscular Foundation is Seeking a Public Board Member

Nandedkar to Provide Free EMG-NCS Materials During COVID-19 Crisis

Submit an Abstract for the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America’s 2020 Scientific Session

Science News: Heteronymous H Reflex in Temporal Muscle as a Sign of Hyperexcitability in ALS Patients






Ultra EMG