Donate to Advance Research and Education
With your help, the American Neuromuscular Foundation can fund research that will improve the lives of patients with neuromuscular diseases.


View the committee brochure, then get involved in your industry. Click the volunteer button and select an AANEM committee. A list of committees with their current members is available here.

Past Award Recipients

Distinguished Physician Award 

2020: Peter D. Donofrio, MD
2019: Robert A. Werner, MD, MS
2018: Yuen T. So, MD, PhD
2017: Peter A. Grant, MD
2016: John D. England, MD
2015: James F. (Chip) Howard, Jr., MD
2014: Michael T. Andary, MD, MS
2013: Janice M. Massey, MD
2012: William S. Pease, MD
2011: William W. Campbell, MD
2010: James A. Leonard, Jr, MD
2009: John C. Kincaid, MD
2008: Claire V. Wolfe, MD
2007: H. Royden Jones, Jr., MD
2006: Margarete DiBenedetto, MD
2005: Charles K. Jablecki, MD
2004: Joel A. DeLisa, MD, MS
2003: Charles F. Bolton, MD, FRCP(C)
2002: James W. Albers, MD, PhD
2001: Gerald J. Herbison, MD
2000: Asa J. Wilbourn, MD
1999: Murray E. Brandstater, MBBS, PhD, FRCP(C)
1998: John Melvin, MD
1997: Robert G. Miller, MD
1996: Ian C. Maclean, MD
1995: Joseph Goodgold, MD
1994: George H. Koepke, MD

Distinguished Researcher Award 

2020: Vinay Chaudhry, MD
2019: Craig M. McDonald, MD
2018: Ted M. Burns, MD
2017: Francis O. Walker, MD
2016: Andrew J. Haig, MD
2015: Paul E. Barkhaus, MD
2014: Timothy J. Doherty, MD, PhD, FRCP
2013: Richard (Rick) J. Barohn
2012: Gregory T. Carter, MD, MS
2011: Mark Bromberg, MD
2010: Timothy R. Dillingham, MD, MS
2009: Lisa S. Krivickas, MD
2008: Robert T. Leshner, MD
2006: Shin J. Oh, MD
2005: Lawrence R. Robinson, MD
2004: Austin J. Sumner, MD
2003: Jacqueline J. Wertsch, MD
2002: Mark J. Hallett, MD
2001: Alan J. McComas, MBBS, FRCP(C)
2000: Daniel Dumitru, MD, PhD
1999: Donald B. Sanders, MD
1998: Andrew Eisen, MD
1997: William R. Kennedy, MD
1996: George H. Kraft, MD
1995: Jun Kimura, MD
1994: Erik V. Stålberg, MD, PhD

Distinguished Service Award 

2018: Shirlyn A. Adkins, JD
2013: Anjali Nandedkar, PhD
2009: Edward B. Goldman, JD
2002: Sanjeev D. Nandedkar, PhD

Honorary Members

Merit E. Cudkowicz, MD, MSc
Robert C. Griggis, MD
William M. Fowler, Jr., MD
Salvatore (Billi) DiMauro, MD
W. King Engel, MD
Lewis P. Rowland, MD
Andrew Engel, MD
Angela Vincent, MD
Vanda Lennon, MD, PhD
Arthur K. Asbury, MD
Jerry R. Mendell, MD
Harry Dan Bouman, MD
John E. Desmedt, MD
Peter J. Dyck, MD
Roger W. Gilliatt, DM, FRCP
Karl-Erik Hagbarth, MD
Irena Hausmanowa-Petrusewicz, MD
Herbert H. Jasper, OC, MDCM
Eric Kugelberg, MD
Vanda A. Lennon, MD, PhD
W.T. Liberson, MD, PhD
James G. McLeod, MBBS, FRACP
Noel E.J. Rosselle, MD, PhD
John A. Simpson, MD, DSc, FRCP
Alexander G.M. Weddell, MD

Advocacy Award 

2020: P. Caudill Miller, MD
2019: Benjamin Warfel, MD
2018: Raghav Govindarajan, MD
2017: Vincent J. Tranchitella, MD
2016: Enrica Arnaudo, MD, PhD
2015: Peter A. Grant, MD
2013: Ella Van Laningham, MSW
2012: Andrea J. Boon, MD
2008: Neil A. Busis, MD
2007: John E. Wilson, DO
2005: Mohammad Saeed, MD

Lifetime Achievement Award 

2020: Jacqueline J. Wertsch, MD
2019: James Albers, MD, PhD
2018: James A. Leonard, Jr., MD
2017: Lawrence R. Robinson, MD
2016: Lawrence H. Phillips, II, MD
2015: Shin J. Oh, MD
2014: Mark Hallett, MD
2013: Ludwig Gutmann, MD
2012: Donald B. Sanders, MD
2011: Austin Sumner, MD
2010: William R. Kennedy, MD, MS
2009: Gerald J. Herbison, MD
2008: Murray E.Brandstater, MBBS, PhD, FRCP(C)
2007: John L. Melvin, MD, MMSc
2006: Michael J. Aminoff, MD, DSc, FRCP(L)
2006: Asa J. Wilbourn, MD
2005: Richard K. Olney, MD
2004: George H. Kraft, MD, MS
2003: William F. Brown, MD, FRCP(C)
2002: Randall L. Braddom, MD, MS
2001: Walter C. Stolov, MD
2000: Jack Petajan, MD, PhD
1999: Erik V. Stalberg, MD, PhD
1998: Jun Kimura, MD
1997: Joseph Goodgold, MD
1996: Jasper Daube, MD
1995: Edward H. Lambert, MD, PhD
1989: Ernest W. Johnson, MD
1978: James G. Golseth, MD
1957: Fritz Buchthal, MD

Innovation Award

2020: Zachary N. London, MD
2019: Ralph Buschbacher, MD

Jun Kimura Outstanding Educator Award

2020: Devon I. Rubin, MD
2019: Pushpa Narayanaswami, MBBS, DM

Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award

2020: Gregory Carter, MD, MS
2019: Jeff Strakowski, MD

Outstanding Published Scientific Article Authorship Award

PMR - Andrea J. Boon, MD
Neurology - Yuebing Li, MD, PhD
PMR - Sabrina Paganoni, MD, PhD
Neurology - Lisa Hobson-Webb, MD

Public Recognition Award 

2020: Estelle Benson
2014: Kyle Bryant






Devon products